Philippine Farmers Commemorate 1987 Mendiola Massacre

Philippine Farmers Commemorate 1987 Mendiola Massacre

By SONJA DECHIAN | Published: JANUARY 24, 2012

Sunday marked the anniversary of the Mendiola Massacre, when 13 farmers were killed by military gun fire at a rally in Mendiola, Philippines.

This week,  farmers and their supporters marched in commemoration of the 25thanniversary of the killings, calling for justice.

The 1987 protestors were rallying for distribution of land to farmers from the administration of Corazon Cojuangco-Aquino. At Mendiola bridge they were stopped by government forces, and fired on.

The 13 farmers who were killed in the Mendiola Massacre were: Adelfa Aribe, Danilo Arjona, Ronilo Domanico, Dante Evangelio, Bernabe Laquindanum, Roberto Yumul, Leopoldo Alonzo, Dionisio Bautista, Roberto Caylao, Sonny Boy Perez, Vicente Campomanes, Angelito Gutierrez, and Rodrigo Grampan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *